Friday, October 15, 2010

Commonwealth Games, Delhi-2010

India for the first time hosted the Commonwealth games. According to the Business Today magazine India spent about US$ 6.8 billion on hosting the Commonwealth Games. With this it was the costliest Commonwealth Games ever. When such a huge amount of money is spent, it is natural to expect spectacular display of games and the athletes getting world class amenities. And India stood up to the expectations. All the events were conducted very smoothly. The opening and closing ceremony were spectacular. Overall the games were stupendous success.At the closing ceremony, the president of the Commonwealth Games Federation Mike Fennel declared that Delhi had hosted a "truly exceptional Games"

More than 7000 athletes and supporting staff from 71 participated in the various events. Close to 70 Commonwealth games records were broken and 2 new world records were created during this event. The games Village provided the athletes with world class facilities.

The Organizing Committee.Government of India and the Government of Delhi took a lot of pain for the success of the event. India also takes pride for conducting the first ever 'Green Games'. The organisers signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the United Nations Environment Programme to show the intention to host a "sustainable games" and to take the environment into consideration when constructing and renovating venues. 

The official song of the Delhi Commonwealth games was composed by the famous A.R.Rahman. The official mascot for the games was 'Shera'.

The most standout performance in the games was from the India athletes. India for the first time finished second in the medal tally with 101 medals. India won 38 gold medals during the event. This is truly a remarkable achievement by the Indian athletes. The Indian stars from the games were Gagan Narang, Saina Nehwal, Abhinav Bindra, Krishna Poonia, Omkar Singh, Alka Tomar,Sushil Kumar, Somdev Burman, Annu Raj Singh, Heena Sidhu,A.C. Ashwini, Manjeet Kaur, Mandeep Kaur Sini Jose,Paramjeet Samota, Suranjoy Mayengbam Singh, Jwala Gutta , Ashwini Ponappa, Rahul Banerjee,Harpreet Singh and many more.

I salute the Great Country called India !!

No comments:

Post a Comment